Me, Smart Bitches, Nat. Geographic, and Gickr

I tell you, I’ve never done a massive project like this book promotion before. It’s pretty much all me. (I do have people to hold the camera for the upcoming donor-merchant videos.)  Yesterday I designed the ad that will run on the Smart Bitches website. Luckily I locked in my ad spaces last August. Since their book came out, their ad rates went up — as they should, because they’re not getting 4600 visits a day. Holy cow.

Here’s their book, which you should get if only for the romance-book Mad Libs. Seriously, it’s a great mix of sociology, women’s issues, and humor.

You should also get a subscription to National Geographic. They’re practically giving it away, with a $15/year introductory subscription rate.

And finally, Flickr, source of much goodness and light, has a companion site called Gickr, which will turn your Flickr photos or uploaded pix into Gif animations like the one below.

pimp your myspace at Gickr.com
Make your own animation

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Me, Smart Bitches, Nat. Geographic, and Gickr”

  1. Tez Miller Says:

    Thanks for telling about Gicka – I’ll have to try that out someday 🙂

    • Esri Rose Says:

      You’re welcome. Yeah, it’s darn useful and wonderfully simple. Since my ad was 200 pix wide, I chose Custom on size and entered 200 px. I also chose Custom on time, and it accepted 4.5 seconds. I think it’s actually doing 4.5 secs. 5 was a little long, 4 a little short.

Leave a Reply

