Slacking, not slacking, food, meowing

Our Christmas tree is still up. I’m so ashamed. At least it’s fake, and not dropping deadness all over the floor.

First there were the holidays, then a vacation after the holidays (hey, that’s when the cheap cruise was), then Joe got his electric car running — wait, not running, running again — you get the picture. Then I broke through the dreaded plot block I usually get around page 50. That’s where I suddenly decide the book is slowing down, and I come up with eight different ways to energize it, only to write them and then discard them all. It’s better now. Oh, and Joe gave me a Wii Fit for Christmas, which at first did not work at all with our very non-standard video system, but which now works TOTALLY AWESOMELY, so we spend all kinds of time slalom skiing, or pretending to be a ball on a tilting board, or flinging virtual hula hoops around. Watching Angel Joe try to rack up points before the hula-hoop timer runs out is HYSTERICALS. (I’m sure I’m just as funny.) The circular motion becomes a sort of twisting, thrashing… I really can’t describe it and no, I’m not going to share a vid of it with you. Leave us our dignity. Oh, and yesterday my virtual Wii yoga trainer bent over and I discovered he has a tiny ponytail on the back of his head. Hahahahahaha!

In other news, I decided I was tired of not having the use of my SINUSES, which have been plugged up with allergies for the last 4-6 months, to the extent that my allergist suggested a CAT scan to see if I had benign polyps that could be hacked out. I woke up on Jan 23 and thought, “This is bad. I need to do something.” So I put myself on this diet where basically I eat only a few things that I’m pretty sure I’m not allergic to, and rotate them on a four-day schedule. So a day’s menu might be the following:

  • Apples
  • Millet
  • Cashews
  • Kale
  • Avocado oil (yes, I rotate the oils, too)
  • Yams
  • Salt

My nose is already WAY better, and of course I feel great and have lost some weight. I’m pretty sure my virtual Wii trainer thinks I’m FINE. The only side effect seems to be a tendency to use ALL CAPS.

In other news, Musette kitty and I did a duet this morning, where I sang Shipoopi entirely in meows, pausing after each phrase so she could meow. She did admirably, although she wasn’t on the beat. I lubs her anyway.

And it’s cold and snowy, so the Christmas tree looks entirely appropriate. Maybe I should dust it.

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Slacking, not slacking, food, meowing”

  1. Amy Says:

    omg, I can totally see Joe writhing around on the Wii fit. YOU ARE RIGHT IT IS HILARIOUS.

    Whoops. All caps must be catching. 😉

  2. Tez Miller Says:

    I would’ve posted Family Guy‘s version of “Shipoopi”. If no one performs it during the Superbowl’s half-time, THERE WILL BE DISAPPOINTMENT! 😉

    Have a lovely day! 🙂

  3. abouttothunder Says:

    Haha! Wii Fit. We have one too, and it’s completely addictive. I “love” the insulting commentary when my BMI goes up instead of down. When the kid isn’t around, I’ve been known to swear at it.

    Don’t worry about the tree. You are not alone. Some people on our block still has their tree up too, and they still turn the lights on. Then there are the people in the neighborhood who are still turning their outdoor Christmas lights on every night.

Leave a Reply

