New hobby?

Yes, I bought it partly because of the bottle.

Yes, I bought it partly because of the bottle.

Even though I have a lot of allergies and my sinuses are currently at half mast (When will it SNOW?), I still love things that smell. Not fakey candles, which tend to make me sneeze, but tea, plants, health-food-store perfumes, and some incense. I haven’t met many department-store scents I could hack, which made it doubly surprising that yesterday I ordered a discount bottle of Fendi’s Asja from Perfume Emporium and three samples of other perfume from LuckyScents, all sight-unsniffed. The reason? Blogs! I felt puny yesterday, so spent every waking hour on the Internet. I was researching what cologne a male character would wear when I stumbled on Perfume Posse and Perfume Smellin’ Things, which were so well-written and such girlish fun that I immediately succumbed to their scented worldview.

Take a gander at Perfume Smellin’ Things review of Asja and you’ll see why I had to buy it immediately. Not only does it sound like the smell I’ve been looking for all my life, but it’s been discontinued and is getting increasingly hard to find. Plus, the bottle is incredible! If I don’t like the scent, I’ll decant it (another thing I just learned about) and trade it for other stuff. So all these things conspired to make me shell out $30 (Free shipping code at Perfume Emporium: FS2000).

In short, it’s a fun subculture I didn’t know about, and we all know how I like me some subculture. Especially one that has an event called Sniffapalooza that’s been featured in TIME magazine. (Maybe not so “sub” after all.)

Tags: , ,

One Response to “New hobby?”

  1. Esri Rose Says:

    I don’t know, but they really do.

Leave a Reply

