Where have I been?

We had a big concert week with the Boulder Chorale — Randy McIntosh’s mass for Marimbas! What’s a marimba, exactly, you ask? I’m glad you asked. Here’s a vid of the fab Kutandara.

The other thing I’m experiencing is contractor difficulties. I know! The swamp-cooler project is not done yet! And then there’s the writing, which I need to do more of if I’m going to have two projects going at once. Hell, I need to do more if I’m going to have one project. So I’m not online much right now. Yesterday I went to the library to work, mostly to get away from the noise of pounding. Unfortunately, the library is full of crazy mutterers. At first I sat at one of the carrels, but the young, wild-haired guy on the other side had earphones and kept talking to his laptop. “C’mon you little bastards! Get in there! Oh, I don’t believe this #*@!ing thing.” I assume he was playing a game and not writing his résumé. After taking a bathroom break, I found an open spot in the Quiet Section. You wouldn’t think a library would need a designated quiet section, would you? A college-looking gal asked to sit on the other side of my table, and I said sure. Then she asked if she could borrow a pen or pencil, which I loaned her. I don’t know – maybe she decided to do a little homework on the spur of the moment. Then this homeless-looking guy sitting in the corner starts reading a political article in the paper. Out loud. So I said, “Excuse me, but this is the Quiet Section.”

“The quiet section, huh? If it’s the quiet section, why is there all this noise?” (points to guy using copier, next to him). “Or is it rage against the machine I hear?” I ignored him, and he was quiet for a while. Then he starts reading out loud and laughing. “I’m sorry,” he says, “but I won’t be able to read this without laughing, so I guess I’ll go to the Laughing Section.”

After writing seven pages, I took my pencil back and left. The pencil-borrowing gal didn’t thank me.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Where have I been?”

  1. Laura Says:

    Ah, the library. I love the library, and I fear the library.
    Have you run into the guy who shelves books, but occasionally stops doing so to shriek and hit himself in the head with whatever book he has in hand?

    I’m sure there’s an actual problem there, and I’m glad the library employs him. But Zoe is scared to death of him, and will run away from me when she sees him, to lose herself somewhere in the stacks.

Leave a Reply

