Hollywood is pathetic.

Lets hope were funny.

Let's hope we're funny.

Apparently Hollywood producers have lost all confidence that they could recognize a funny concept if it bit them on the ass with a pair of wind-up teeth. What else could explain their practice of remaking other countries’ sitcoms instead of developing new ones?

I loved Britain’s The Office. Genius. Never cared for the U.S. version, although I think Steve Carell is quite  talented. But it wasn’t the concept that made that show. A bunch of dysfunctional office people… Yeah, not laughing at that description. It was all in the writing and the actors, particularly Ricky Gervais, and — here’s the tricky bit — the U.S. didn’t have the same writers and actors.

Now we have Kath & Kim, (premiers tonight) which NBC dares to call “A New American Classic.” (Semantics Rant) Not only can a new show not be a classic, but it’s a remake of an Australian show! Can I have some outraged exclamation points? Thank you!!!!! Concept? A daughter’s marriage breaks up, and she moves in with her mom, and they’re really different. Wooo-eee! Pardon me while I wipe the tears from my eyes. If this show is at all watchable, it will be because of Molly Shannon, whom I love. But watching the previews, I’m not seeing any sparkle.

Hey, Hollywood types. Do you spend your evenings eating reheated restaurant French fries? Neither do I.

P.S. The Aussie Kath & Kim looked so funny, I went to Netflix to add it to my queue. The showed the Aussie cover, listed Season 1, and then proceeded to name all the U.S. actors. Shameful.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Hollywood is pathetic.”

  1. Tez Miller Says:

    Not to mention that the US version doesn’t have Sharon, and they’ve renamed Kel and Brett and given them different jobs. Apparently there are no butcher shops in the US – you just get your meat from the supermarket??? You deserve better than that! So instead your Kel (who has a different name) runs a gourmet sandwich shop…

    Have a lovely day! 🙂

  2. LiJuun Says:

    It’s like with Coupling. The Brit version is one of the funniest shows ever on TV (I have all episodes at home to watch whenever I need). The US version? Dumb, dumb, dumb. And pretty dumb, too. Did I mention it was dumb?

    Horrible.

Leave a Reply

