Fun Game

I draw...the Chainsaw of Dismemberment!

Laura and Danny introduced us to this new game called Munchkin. Before we played, I was really uncertain as to whether I’d like it.

“It’s kind of like Dungeons and Dragons, only funny, and played with cards,” they said.

“Huh?” I said.

I’ve never been into D&D, but Laura knows what I like, so we went over and played, and it’s a HOOT. Basically, it’s a send-up of D&D. You draw cards for armor (Spiky Codpiece, Pantyhose of Giant Strength), weapons (Staff of Napalm, Sword of Slaying Everything Except Squid) monsters (Wannabe Vampire, Plutonium Dragon), potions (Lemming Juice), and curses (Chicken on Your Head). Are you getting the idea? Basically, you draw cards, fight things, gang up on each other, steal and make deals, all without rolling a thousand dice or keeping character sheets. It’s D&D very light.

Hiyaaaa!

I went to my local game store this weekend and bought my own version, with the extra weapons deck — Unnatural Axe.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Fun Game”

  1. Laura Says:

    Glad you enjoyed it.

    My favorite card? the +3 Cheese Grater of Peace.

Leave a Reply

