The house is too clean.

That’s because I have a lot of boring-ish stuff to do. Especially putting together a mailing list for the Boulder Book Store signing, which involves a lot of data entry and (shudder) reverse lookup. When I have to do stuff like this, I pretend that I’m my own secretary: “I know it’s not exciting work, Esri, but the results could be exciting, and it needs to be done.”

When I give myself “the talk,” usually I reposition my nose to the grindstone and try to take some pride in my work, no matter how dull. But sometimes my lower lip pooches out and I slope off to vacuum or make sure the new table is sparkly, muttering about what a slave-driver my boss is.

It used to be that when I dreamed of getting rich with my writing, I dreamed of a spectacular house, or fabulous jewelry, or a personal chef. Now I know better. The first thing I’d do is hire a secretary. How about you?

Tags:

5 Responses to “The house is too clean.”

  1. Amy Says:

    Why can’t you? Use Brickwork in India. It will cost you about $5/hour to have someone work for you while you are sleeping. Tell them to only work on it for X amount of hours, and there you go.

    http://www.b2kcorp.com

    Or, if you don’t want to outsource overseas, try someone on Elance. I bet you can find a cheap virtual assistant there.

    Full of ideas for the here and now,

    Amy

  2. Esri Rose Says:

    Huh! I’m not sure I make enough to afford even the cheapest assistant right now, but I’ll keep these in mind. Truly, you are a fount.

  3. Trish Milburn Says:

    I would hire a lawn person to mow, trim, weed, etc. And I might hire a chef if I got J.K. Rowling wealthy since I don’t like to cook. 🙂

  4. Esri Rose Says:

    The YARD! I forgot all about the yard. And it shows. Well, that’s the beauty of rarely leaving the house.

  5. Theresa Says:

    Wow, Amy is full of information!

    I think I would hire a house cleaner right away…

    LOL about pretending to be your own secretary! You can give yourself a raise and days off…cool!

Leave a Reply

