It was the best of times, it was the worst of times…

I got a nice mini review on Barbara Vey’s PW blog. Thanks, Dina!

Yesterday I walked to the downtown pedestrian mall with Neighbor Brad. I wanted two things. First, to get some cash and then some kind of cooling beverage, and second, a copy of Donald Maass’s Writing the Breakout Novel. I have resisted that book for years because I don’t enjoy machocentric “big books” (women buy more books than men, btw), and because, you know, you should just be able to write what you want and people will buy it. Hahahahahaha.

Well, I’ve woken up and smelled the bestselling brew, and have come to realize that within the parameters of Donald Maass’s tips, I can still write what I want, only I can make it more of whatever it is. So I’ve decided to get the book and learn stuff.

Walked down to my local independent bookstore/cafe. They didn’t have it, although they had the workbook that goes with it. Decided to pick up a couple of the Hamish Macbeth mysteries that I don’t have. They didn’t have any of those books. Both Maass and Beaton are bestselling authors, folks. What’s up with the poor inventory control?

Walked to the library. Their copy of the Maass book had been stolen. But I couldn’t have checked it out anyway, because I had left my wallet (with library card) at home and just taken cards, so as to lighten my load. Sigh.

Got cash at the nearby ATM and started home. It was hot, and I hadn’t worn socks with my Sketchers, so the soles of my feet felt like they were on fire. I got as far as the Spruce Cafe (photo on right) and stopped to have a half-caff, iced soy latte (with Sweet n’ Low), and a Loralyn cookie. Ah… Bliss.

Went home and ordered everything on Amazon.com.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times…”

  1. Laura Says:

    Mmmm…. Spruce Confections. My favorites are the E-Spruce-o, which is good enought that it’s worth the embarrassment of ordering it, and the chocolate cupcakes with raspberry buttercream frosting.

    Now I’m hungry for it. I think Zoe and I will hit Spruce tomorrow.

  2. Tez Miller Says:

    I so want that Maass book. Can’t find it in the library catalogue, on eBay or on BookMooch šŸ˜¦

    Have a lovely day! šŸ™‚

  3. Esri Rose Says:

    Tez, isn’t there an Amazon.com Australia? They might have a used copy.

  4. Tez Miller Says:

    No freaking Amazon Australia. Surprising, eh? You would’ve thought someone would’ve set up a branch by now. Apparently Amazon doesn’t want Australian money after all – bah! šŸ˜‰

    Have a lovely day! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

