Eek! My baby!

I was sitting on the porch yesterday with Musette in my arms on her back. She gave a couple of big yawns, allowing me to see that her very back tooth on the upper right side is BLACK and SCARY. Shit. So she’s getting a cleaning and possibly an extraction (sob!) next week.

My previous cat, Tilly, didn’t get wet food until she was old and ill. Then I read that vets now say wet food is way better for them. So Musette has high-end kibble always available, and three times a day she gets high-end canned food (chicken, not fish, because canned fish is full of flame retardants, apparently). Has this been rotting her teeth, or was this something that started with her previous owner?

You know, I could see she had tartar and I kept meaning to book her a cleaning, but I put it off because I hated to think of her going through it. (rolls eyes) I’ve never made bad decisions because of being a softie before, and I hope I won’t again.

Black, I tell you. (shudder)

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Eek! My baby!”

  1. Tez Miller Says:

    Like Musette, Manny has the genetic crapness that is bad teeth. He has his annual check-up in July, and had a few teeth removed. And his next check-up is…next month. One day, he’ll be my Toothless Yokel Kitty 😦

    Sympathies to Musette, and have a lovely day! 🙂

  2. Esri Rose Says:

    I guess her lips might just fit closer to her teeth than other cats. I hear that’s a problem with a lot of small dog breeds. Well, I’m likely to be very rigorous with vet visits from now on, so I guess that’s a good thing.

Leave a Reply

